Posted by: Mama Bear | February 13, 2009

the shopping trip

suit

Logan starts kindergarten next year.  And guess what that means for me?

It means that when he hears that bell on the first day of school, it will toll in a nearby building for me, too.

I haven’t taught full-time for nearly five years.  I remember well the day my doctor called me on my classroom phone to go over some test results.  They indicated that I needed to be put on bedrest for the duration of my pregnancy.

I feigned disappointment as I explained to my students that their long-term sub would take over a little sooner than planned.  But inside my head, I was cheering louder than a giddy high school girl whose boyfriend just scored the game’s winning touchdown. 

It was because that phone call represented the start of an uninterrupted honeymoon between my yet-to-be-born child and me.

Well, that honeymoon’s almost over.  Next week, I’ll start a round of interviews as I seek out a teaching position for the ’09-10 school year.

I don’t mean to sound down-in-the-dumps about returning to work.  I love to teach; really, I do.  It’s the forming of relationships with middle- and high-schoolers that has kept me in the field.  My former students, including the boy who told me I needed to have my eyebrows waxed and the girl that wrote “bitch” in yellow highlighter on my classroom window, are so very dear to me.

But it’s bittersweet to know that this stage of my time with my child is drawing to a close.

So in preparation for the upcoming job search, I went out on a shopping trip in search of something suitable in which to better sell myself.  And boy, did I feel like a hillbilly as I slunk around the mall trying to find a good deal.  I’ve been out of the mall rat circuit as long as I’ve been out of work. 

There was a time that shopping for a new outfit was invigorating.  If I had a bad day, it was the perfect fix-me-up.  Today, it just made me sweat.

Maybe it was because of what the new duds represent:  The end of one of  my life’s sweetest chapters.

Responses

  1. 2009 is bringing lots and lots of changes. i have a phone interview for a teaching position next week. perhaps i’m crazy for moving into the classroom, but i figure i’ll try it. if i don’t like it, i can always go back to what i was doing before.

    i’m sure another sweet chapter is going to open, it’s just going to be sweet in a different way. and the suit is lovely, btw!

  2. Let me be the first to welcome you to the world of “the working mother”. It can really suck. But it is nice to be among adults and remember that there was life before children. I have been at it a year now, cany you believe it? I celebrate my one year anniversary on the 18th. I really dreaded the change in my life but was happy to find that it was not as bad as I thought it would be.
    Good Luck!

  3. Good Luck on become a working mom! It’s frustrating and fabulous, rewarding and heart-wretching, and so much more.

    Kudos for being a stay-at-home-mom for as long as you did. I was never able to stay home (nor would I have wanted to.) But I have the utmost respect for those who do.

    And I love the suit!

  4. Its the best field of work to be in when you have your own kids! You will be on close to the same schedule and hopefully close to home too! I still hope that moving the kids to the new school is the right thing for them. I will have the twins at the new school and macy still at the current school! Its going to be crazy!
    You will do great!

  5. Good Luck with the Job Hunt.. I love the Outfit you bought. Can’t believe our little Guys are going to school soon.. Time passes so quickly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

