Posted by: Mama Bear | January 25, 2009

25 random facts about the mama bear

littleme1

I recently filled this out on Facebook as a sort of “tag, you’re it” survey.  It’s a list of random revelations. 

1. Never in my life have I eaten fruits or vegetables. Not a single one, even as a baby.

2. Although others have expressed concern about this, it didn’t really bother me until I was pregnant. I quelled the angst by supplementing my already generous, carb-heavy meals with about six cans of Ensure per day.

3. Consequently, I packed on 80 lbs. and weighed in at about 200 when I delivered. After three years, I finally got the weight off, but my knees have never been the same.

4. Because cancer doesn’t seem like the best way to go, I now make a vegetable drink several times a week. It’s green and looks gross but is really quite tasty.

5. I have an extremely addictive personality. I’ve never smoked pot or tried any other illegal drug. If I did, I’m certain I’d be hooked.

6. On the flip side, I was a closet cigarette smoker until my mid-20s. I quit cold-turkey because I was afraid my husband would find out. Coincidentally, he began smoking several years later and still does.

7. I’m a chronic insomniac. Have been since the 6th grade. I sleep better when animals are in bed with me, preferably large dogs.

8. I toilet-papered a police car when I was in high school. The cop was sitting inside.

9. Although several people have attempted to show me how to send text messages, I still can’t do it.

10. I carry a list in my purse of things I want to accomplish before I die. High on that list is to ride a mechanical bull. It will be addressed very soon.

11. I’m terrible about initiating or returning phone calls. I’ve lost at least three friends because of this.

12. Last summer, I drove with my 4-year-old son from St. Louis to South Texas. It took me 20 hours and was extremely liberating.

13. My parents divorced when I was 6. It, as well as the years of related aftershocks, are the worst memories of my life.

14. In college, while cramming for a test, I decided it would be more efficient to eat dried coffee grounds rather than take the time to brew them.

15. Once, while at a restaurant with my grandfather, I consumed four steaks in rapid succession just to prove to him that I could. He retold that story with great pride many times. The last time I heard him repeat it was just a few days before he died.

16. I’m afraid to travel by airplane and even screamed once, much to the delight of my fellow passengers. It’s gotten better, but I still have the doctor call in a prescription for anxiety meds before each trip.

17. I’m phobic about clutter. Consequently, I have spartan furnishings in my home.

18. Every year on my birthday, I blast “September” by Earth, Wind & Fire and dance around the living room.  Usually, it’s a solo performance, but sometimes I’m accompanied by an animal or two.

19. When I was 17, I wrecked a friend’s car. Even though that friend lived right across the street from us, my mother still doesn’t know.

20. I can name the artist and title of virtually any 80s song after hearing just a few notes.

21. When my brother and I are together on Easter, my mom still hides eggs for us and we enthusiastically hunt for them. That’s because she puts money inside.

22. I like to vacuum the carpet even when it doesn’t need it just so I can see the pattern on the floor. I have a specific path I always follow so the lines are straight.

23. Texas wildflowers in springtime are among the most beautiful sights I’ve ever seen.

24. After my grandma died, Grandpa gave me a small jewelry box that was taped shut. He told me there was something special for me inside. It was Grandma’s teeth. I still have them and will eventually gift them to a family member as a prank.

25. I’m trying hard to read the entire Bible. I just finished Ecclesiastes and immensely enjoyed it.

Responses

  1. Wow! I learned a few things.

    Please don’t gift me the teeth.

  2. I hate to break it to you, Carie, but you’re on the short list for those teeth. Sean is, too.

  3. okay, if that is you as a kid in the top picture, your son, your son is your clone! omg, you guys look EXACTLY alike. you know, minus the male/female thing. totally interesting!

    this was fun! i’ll admit, i had to research spartan furniture… i’m not a big fan of clutter – but then i found the queen of clutter and she moved in with me.

  4. i’m with you on #11. since i’ve revealed this, so many of “us” have come out of the woodworks, so you’re not alone 🙂

    (i’m not the queen of clutter!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

